Photographing Ten Interesting Door Numbers 1 – 10

One of my tasks for the summer holiday, was to photograph ten visually interesting door numbers from one to ten. This task left me thinking where I could find these interesting door numbers. The one thought that did came to my mind was door numbers from old houses, like Victorian houses, as the door numbers from older houses can be more quirky and ornate. When I went to see the Heather Philipson exhibition at the Plymouth Arts Centre, I ventured down to the Barbican, trying to find some of the older houses that have house numbers between one to ten. Unfortunately, I did not find many older houses with door numbers from one to ten, so I had to look at the newer estates. I did find some interesting door number, with simple stylish typography. However, after a while, I did start to fill uncomfortably doing this task, as I did get confronted a few times with the owners who owned the houses of the door numbers I photographed. I tried to justify what I was doing to the owners, stating that it is part of my project, but still they were unhappy. Fortunately, they did not make me have to delete the photos. I tried looking at door numbers of shops to see if I could find any thing, finding a few interesting interesting door numbers. Throughout the rest of the holiday, I will look around for interesting door numbers in the local area, building a collection of photos, in which I can select the best ten door numbers from one to ten.
 
These shots are the best ten door numbers that I could find during my summer holiday:
 
 

Author: gigajordanmartell

I am student doing a Extended Diploma in Graphic Design, Illustration and Game Arts, at Plymouth College Of Art.

Leave a comment